Follow

Resetting Surface Pro to factory default

KB00194

______________________________________________________

Surface Pros are treated like laptops.  There is not a standard image for them.  If they are exchanged to be used by another person and the old user is no longer available to login, then the tablet will need to be set back to default or logged in as the Admin.  If the new user will use it for travel the laptop will stay as a workgroup computer and the account for the user is added to the machine.

Please ensure that Altiris and Trend are installed on the Pro.  If the user needs the Pro to be configured on the Daymon domain, it will need to be shipped to the San Diego office to be set up.

Follow the steps below to reset the Surface Pro:

WARNING

A reset returns the Surface Pro to its factory settings.

  • A reset reinstalls Windows and apps that came installed on your Surface.
  • All of your personal files will be deleted, and your settings will be reset. All apps that you installed will be removed.
  • After a reset, you’ll be able to setup your Surface as if it were brand new

Reset from the Windows sign-in screen

  • If you don’t have a keyboard connected to your Surface, you’ll need to use the on-screen touch keyboard to do these reset steps. From the Windows sign-in screen, select Ease of Access in the lower-left corner, and select On Screen Keyboard
  1. Plug in your Surface so you don’t run out of power during the refresh
  2. From the Windows sign-in screen, select Power in the lower-right corner of the sign-in screen
  3. Press and hold the Shift key (if you’re using the touch keyboard, and select
  4. While the Shift key is still pressed or selected, select Restart
  5. Select Troubleshoot>Reset your PC
  6. On the Reset your PC screen, select Next
  7. Choose either Just remove my files or Fully clean the drive (choose Fully clean the drive if new user is taking ownership and old user will no longer be using). The option to clean the drive is more secure but takes much longer.
  8. Select Reset. Surface restarts and the Surface log appears during the reset process.  This can take several minutes.

After the Reset

Here’s what to do after you’ve reset your Surface:

  • Complete the Surface setup steps, including selecting your region and language.
  • Check for important updates.
  • The first account to setup is the users account.
  • After the users account is setup then go into computer management and enable the Administrator account.
  • Once Administrator account is active log in as Administrator and do a Ctrl+Alt+Del and reset the password and change it to the default password for Daymon. (This is the one that is on all laptops)
  • Once reset confirm you can log in as Admin and then the user.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk